Announcement

Collapse

Information Needed

See more
See less

Fresh install - running into permission issues

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • CnP.Support.MA
    replied
    Good day lnielsen :

    As requested we have completed all the post installation steps in your instance.

    Please check and let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

    Leave a comment:


  • CnP.Support
    replied
    Good day lnielsen

    Sorry I missed one of your comments. Too many emails being posted at the same time. You asked:

    "Thanks for the details - I am confused those. Are you telling me to perform these steps or are you saying "we had done this for you but you changed the site so they need to be redone and here is how to do it".

    Answer:

    We had done all the set up for you but you had changed the site name. When a new site is set up the post-installation steps need to be repeated. I hope it makes sense now, given my previous explanation. At this time you do not need to do anything as we have fixed it for you. As you noticed your site is UP and works fine, except for the new fields you have added.

    Once we fix the permission on your new fields we will update this thread. Each custom field you add requires setting up the right permission so the GUEST user can read and write to it. This is a Salesforce security feature and not related to C&P. I keep emphasizing this as we love for our clients to realize when C&P starts and Salesforce begins. One of the challenges of being an app is the complexities of the host is always counted against the app.

    Just let us know how we can be of more assistance.

    Leave a comment:


  • CnP.Support
    replied
    Good day lnielsen

    We have submitted this request to the team to review & set your permissions. I will update this post when we are done.

    Please let us know if we can be of more help. Also note that we have office hours Mondays- Thursdays that you may attend and talk to our engineer that is there to answer questions. See: https://ClickandPledge.com/Webinar/

    Leave a comment:


  • lnielsen
    replied
    We think we are at that point where we need someone to take a look

    Leave a comment:


  • CnP.Support
    replied
    Good day lnielsen

    The permission set that we have designed is for all the default fields in the Contact object. A custom field is not something we are aware of (I hope you agree) and as such the permissions for the field is not set up as we are totally unaware of it.

    The GUEST user is the anonymous user and since in an event the GUEST user has to have READ / WRITE permission to the Contact fields we need to make sure these fields all have the RW permission. We have included these permissions in the base permission set.

    All new fields need to be set up with the right permission so Salesforce let them to be seen in the outside pages.

    Please complete your event set up and fields so we can go in and review the permission for the custom fields that are added to the Contact object.

    Leave a comment:


  • lnielsen
    replied
    Thanks for the details - I am confused those. Are you telling me to perform these steps or are you saying "we had done this for you but you changed the site so they need to be redone and here is how to do it". I just don't know enough to know if you are telling me I am now in a good state or I still need to perform setup actions

    The preview comes up now but the volunteer form is locked (no fields).

    Leave a comment:


  • CnP.Support
    replied
    Good day lnielsen

    We have removed the post-installation steps as it was extremely involved and people were making mistakes making resolving issues really difficult. We were having frustrated people with the post-installation issues. Please note this is not an issue related to our app. The GUEST user has to be able to access various objects - we have a permission set for this purpose that needs to be assigned to the GUEST user for the specific site.

    We had done the post-installation but you have changed the site so that requires the post-installation again. We ask that you always request us to review your post-installation. Again I apologize for the inconvenience- the post-installation has been removed for this very purpose. It is quite complex.

    The GUEST user is easy to assign a permission set to. Here is how: -- just note that this is only 1 step in the post-installation and we do not recommend using multiple sites for Click & Pledge. To make it easier we always recommend to our clients to use the no page design so the name is: https://opcare.secure.force.com (which appears to be what we had set you up as initially. The URL for each of these is just a URL and not really recommended to be set up as different sites - given each site requires post-installation. Majority of our clients simply use one site. Those that have events in multiple time zones typically set up multiple site since the time zone is also an attribute of the site.

    To answer your question as to the steps to add the permission here it is.

    Step 1: Sites > click on the "Site Label" - in your case volunteer

    Click image for larger version

Name:	2016-09-13_11-04-49.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	139.6 KB
ID:	26788


    Click on the "Public Access Settings"

    Click image for larger version

Name:	2016-09-13_11-06-18.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	88.2 KB
ID:	26789

    Click on the Assigned Users

    Click image for larger version

Name:	2016-09-13_11-08-57.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	123.9 KB
ID:	26790


    Click on the Full Name of the Site Guest User

    Click image for larger version

Name:	2016-09-13_11-09-51.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	64.3 KB
ID:	26791

    click on the Edit Assignment

    Click image for larger version

Name:	2016-09-13_11-11-48.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	136.5 KB
ID:	26792


    Add the permissions as shown below

    Click image for larger version

Name:	2016-09-13_11-13-17.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	94.1 KB
ID:	26793


    Leave a comment:


  • lnielsen
    replied
    Are you able to use the support access given an take a look?

    Leave a comment:


  • lnielsen
    replied
    No your info about permissions doesn't help at all. What permissions. Why not include a link to your install guide with all the permissions we need to add. We followed the steps last week that said you guys do post install setup.

    Our active sites are: http://opcare.force.com/volunteers and http://opcare.force.com/receipt

    Salesforce documentation is out of date on how to assign permissions to sites

    Leave a comment:


  • CnP.Support
    replied
    Good day lnielsen

    Please note that the image has to be JPEG (JPG) not PNG. PNG's show up small.

    Leave a comment:


  • lnielsen
    replied
    Can I just email them to you. They are full size images but your forum shrinks them upon upload

    Leave a comment:


  • lnielsen
    replied

    Leave a comment:


  • CnP.Support
    replied
    Good day lnielsen

    Please see: https://opcare.secure.force.com/volu...6000001ReOFAA0

    We reviewed the setting and noticed the following:The GUEST user has to have permission to access the public site.

    Event requires a lot of permissions to be set and as such we always recommend that we do the installation & post installation steps. Of course if the page changes for the site from let's say site 1 to site 2 the entire post installation has to be repeated.

    Hope this helps.

    Leave a comment:


  • CnP.Support
    replied
    Good day lnielsen

    Sorry for your trouble. The forum is monitored by developers and we do not have access to the help desk so we are not aware of the issues you may have posted to the help desk.

    The images you have posted are PNG and this forum (VBULLETIN) shows them quite small. I hope you can also see your post- the images are impossible to see.

    The issue I see just from the shadows of the image appear to be a permission issue. We review it as soon as we have a better image.

    Leave a comment:


  • lnielsen
    started a topic Fresh install - running into permission issues

    Fresh install - running into permission issues

    We a totally stuck and have filed support cases going back to last Wed with no resolution. I honestly thought this was going to be a simple install so I volunteered to help a non-profit and it has been nothing but issues. We granted support access last Wed. I've try to enable/disable TLS 1.1 like another article stated but to no avail.


    OrgId: 00D36000000wHXq


    Lars Nielsen
    Salesforce MVP

    Attached Files
Working...
X